Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Mount St. Helens Summit Climbs

July 24 @ 6:00 am - 6:00 pm

|Recurring Event (See all)

One event on June 26, 2021 at 6:00am

One event on June 27, 2021 at 6:00am

One event on July 3, 2021 at 6:00am

One event on July 4, 2021 at 6:00am

One event on July 10, 2021 at 6:00am

One event on July 11, 2021 at 6:00am

One event on July 17, 2021 at 6:00am

One event on July 18, 2021 at 6:00am

One event on July 24, 2021 at 6:00am

One event on July 25, 2021 at 6:00am

One event on July 31, 2021 at 6:00am

The Mount St. Helens Institute offers two kinds of guided climbs to the summit of Mount St. Helens every June, July, August and September.

The classic summit climb is an opportunity to reach the top of the Pacific Northwest’s most spectacular volcano and learn about the area’s natural and cultural history as part of a guided group. Designed for first-time climbers or those wishing to learn from an experienced and knowledgeable mountain guides, the classic summit climb offers the chance to climb an active Cascade volcano.

Additional summit climbs are available, led by a professional geologist. Participants will delve into the fascinating and complex geology of Mount St. Helens, while experiencing it firsthand. The geologist will explain  facets of the geology of Mount St. Helens and answer questions while ascending Monitor Ridge to the rim. This climb is for those looking to combine their interests of climbing and geology. Dates of geologist-led climbs are marked below with asterisks.

  • Minimum Age: 12 and over (minors must be accompanied by an adult)
  • Maximum Group Size: 10
  • Permits: Fee includes a climbing permit
  • Duration: 6 a.m. to 6 p.m.
  • Classic Summit Climb: $255 per person
  • Summit with a Geologist: $265 per person
  • Winter Route: 12 mile round trip, elevation gain 5,500 ft., from  Marble Mountain Sno-Park
  • Summer Route: 10 mile round trip, elevation gain 4,500 ft., from Climber’s Bivouac Trailhead
June 2021 July 2021 August 2021 September 2021
Sunday, June 20 Saturday, July 3 Sunday, August 1 Saturday, September 4
Saturday, June 26 Sunday, July 4 **Saturday, August 7 Sunday, September 5
Sunday, June 27 Saturday, July 10 Sunday, August 8 Monday, September 6
Sunday, July 11 Saturday, August 14 Saturday, September 11
Saturday, July 17 Sunday, August 15 Sunday, September 12
Sunday, July 18 Saturday, August 21 Saturday, September 18
Saturday, July 24 Sunday, August 22 Sunday, September 19
**Sunday, July 25 Saturday, August 28
Saturday, July 31 **Sunday, August 29

Click here for route descriptions.
Click here for program policies.
Click here for a suggested packing list.
Click here for gear rentals.

Details

Date:
July 24
Time:
6:00 am - 6:00 pm
Event Category:

Venue

WA United States + Google Map